Knight's Canadian Info Collection
Knight's Canadian Info Collection


Northwest Territory
Quick Fact Sheet

Northwest Territory Arms
Northwest Territory Coat of Arms

Northwest Territory Flag
Northwest Territory Flag

Capital City: Yellowknife
Date Entered Confederation: July 15, 1870
Area: 1,299,070 Sq Km
Population: Click Here for Population Page
Motto: no official motto
Known As: The Beautiful Land
Territory Flower: Mountain Avens
Territory Bird: Gyrfalcon
Territory Tree: Tamarack
Commissioner: Hon. Margaret Thom
Premier: Hon. Caroline Cochrane
Political Party: consensus government
Main Products: Tourism is significant. Minerals are plentiful: uranium, tungsten, lead, zinc, copper, silver, and gold are all found. There is some petroleum production and extensive exploration. Although approximately one-fifth of the territory is forested, commercial forestry is limited. A recent new industry is diamond mining. 'Polar' diamonds (brand name) are mined in a few areas of the NT. They are high quality stones and quite valuable.

The Northwest Territory includes all of Canada northwest of the 60th parallel, except the Yukon, Nunavut and portions of Quebec and Newfoundland. It contains the large District of MacKenzie.

At some time in its history, the Northwest Territory has included all of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Nunavut and the Yukon, and most of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec. Today, the Northwest Territory remains a large political subdivision in Canada, with 15% of the total area of the country.

One of the most remarkable features of the Territory is the Mackenzie River, one of the world's longest at 4,241 km. Like the Yukon, the Territory. can be divided into two broad geographical regions: the taiga, a boreal forest belt that circles the subarctic zone, and the tundra, a rocky arctic region where the cold climate has stunted vegetation.

There are two major climate zones in the NT: subarctic and arctic. Average temperatures in January are -23C (subarctic) and -26C to -33C (arctic), and in July 21C (subarctic) and 10C (arctic). As in the Yukon, the varying amounts of daylight over the year are an important influence on the climate: between 20 and 24 hours of daylight in June and up to 24 hours of darkness in December.
(Text courtesy Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade)

Return to the Clickable Canada Map

This page is part of Knight's Canadian Info Collection
Please visit our other pages

Site by K.C.I.C. - A. Knight (Webmaster)